Exhibitors 2019

Christina Christensen. NO STRAW SHORTENER shows two ordinary crops and plants in a new and relevant context that brings us up close to something we often take for granted and see from a distance. Dorte Krogh Photography

18 projects have been selected for the up-coming Biennale exhibition and competition with a prize sum of 100.000 Danish Kroner. The jury is excited about a high level and great diversity.

“The selected projects all have a high academic, aesthetically or conceptually strong content and expression. We are pleased that exhibitors are both well-established makers as well as newly educated craftspeolpe and designers. It shows that the Biennale is still a relevant scene for contemporary arts & crafts and design.” – the jury 2019

Following an Open Call with the theme “Community”, the jury has selected 18 projects created by a total of 26 makers. Behind several of the projects stands a group of exhibitors who have joined forces to create a specific piece or project with reference to the theme.

The jury is represented by Anni Nørskov Mørch (curator at Koldinghus and Kolding Design School), Pernille Stockmarr (curator at Designmuseum Denmark) and Maria Foerlev (owner of Etage Projects).

The Biennale has excisted since 1995 with changing locations, collaborators and exhibition themes. Not two Biennale have been the same, but common to all of them is an aim to provide a scene for the experimental and innovative, for new talents and established makers, for the communication and dialogue about contemporary crafts and design.  The theme for the 2019 Biennale is “Community”, and in the selected Biennale projects it is reflected in both form and content. The community theme is treated widely and comes across all aspects from families and everyday situations to sorrow, nationalalism and professionalism.

We are looking forward to presenting the exhibitors at Nordatlantens Brygge in Copenhagen from April 18th – May 5h 2019.

Exhibitors at The Biennale for Craft & Design 2019

Anett Biliczki
Sarah Oakman og Maj-Britt Zelmer Olsen
Sarah Winther
Mia Lagerman
Mariko Wada
Bitten Hegelund
Ole Jensen
Kunstnergruppen RØRT: Ædelmetalformgiver og sygeplejerske Kristina Villadsen, Ædelmetalformgiver og arkitekt Maja Røhl, Ædelmetalformgiver og cand.comm. 
Maria Tsoskunoglu, Ædelmetalformgiver og grafiker Nanna Obel
Christina Christensen
Katrine Borup, Pernille Mouritzen og Bess Kristoffersen
Margrethe Odgaard
Bodil Manz og Jacob Manz
Helle Vibeke Jensen Jensen og Mette Saabye
Charlotte Østergaard
Signe Fensholt
Kristine Mandsberg
Katrine Bidstrup
Sisse Lee